Light Dimmers

I think we all have roadblocks that hold us back from being the best version of ourselves. I mean, we’re all human, so we all have struggles right? I have been thinking quite a bit about my “Light Dimmers.” These are any stumbling blocks between who I am today and the healthier spiritual, mental and physical Dustin of the future. The closer I feel to God, the more I choose to strive toward bursting through any blockage that stunts my spiritual growth!

What dims the light within you? What limits your creativity, your spiritual desires, your evolution to becoming a more Devine being? Honest evaluation can’t hurt, right? I believe we have an ongoing responsibility to our spirit to reflect on anything blocking the path toward a deepening faith walk.

I’ve had several Light Dimmers throughout life. Some roadblocks come and go like the seasons. Others tend to linger and become a stronghold that tighten like a noose around my spirit. I got to thinking about my Light Dimmers and realized they come in an array of shapes and sizes. I came up with this terminology because anything that is consistently dimming our soul’s ability to shine needs to be identified and fought past. We are here for a reason. We each have a higher calling. How can we fulfill God’s purpose for our lives unless we have intentional awareness and healing of anything holding us back?

Observing Matthew 5:14-16, Jesus says: “You are the light of the world- like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your Heavenly Father.” NLT

I think it’s time we remove some baskets and shine like we were intended to! I’m excited to announce that I’ve decided to launch a blog series around this topic of Light Dimmers. I plan to discuss an array of examples, reflecting on real life experiences of my own and lessons learned from others. I believe diving into any and all potential roadblocks to faith, peace and a deepening relationship with God should be explored. I believe all barriers to authentic joy and living our best lives, while fulfilling our God-given destinies should be expunged. I believe being real with ourselves and vulnerable with each other about our Light Dimmers is a challenge we must endure. I believe harnessing the strength to illuminate any darkness casting a shadow on our true potential is critical to our spiritual, mental and physical health.

I hope you’ll join me by engaging in the reflection of anything in your life that you feel is holding you back from your true Divine purpose. I hope you’ll pray for clarity to see your Light Dimmers for what they are- barricades to a deepening relationship with God. I pray we can become aware and move past anything obstructing our ability connect with The Holy Spirit. I pray we will be vulnerable in our approach toward self reflection, and decisive in our actions toward healing anything dimming our spirit.

What do you say we get real and let our lights shine just a little brighter?! Let’s talk about the hard stuff. Let’s talk about the gritty stuff. Let’s talk about radical change for long term health of mind, body and spirit! We aren’t meant to be clouded with darkness, yet we were meant to shine brightly up on that hill! So I ask you again- what dims your light? I look forward to sharing my answers and hearing about yours over the coming weeks.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I look forward to your reading and learning from your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment