Turning 36

We’re in Nashville, TN for my 36th birthday. I’ve never been to Nashville, love the country music of course! As always on my birthday, reflecting occurs as I turn a year older. I’m not sure I’ve had another year full of more soul searching, purpose defining, and answer seeking than I have over the past 12 months. I was reflecting today on what would make me feel good about the next year. What would I really be happy about if I looked back on my 37th birthday that I could accomplish between now and then?

GOD – I really do want to experience a deepening relationship with God. This means continuing to surrender. This also means being a aware and changing anything that dampens my spiritual light, aka- my connection to Him. I’ve thought a lot about this and I hope 36 is a year I can look back on and witness growth in overall wellness. I think 35 was a year of realizations and priority shifts. I think 36 could be a great implementation year as I progress while evolving forward!

MUSIC – I really want to learn the guitar or piano, maybe both. I want to start putting my money where my mouth is too. I want to sign up for weekly lessons, perhaps instrumental and vocal. I want to sit and play at one of these bars one day, because I can and I enjoy it! I want to broaden the musical world for myself. I want to write songs like I write on this blog. I have so many verses already saved in my phone, perhaps I’ll begin sharing them on here one day!

HEALTH – I’m making some kind of commitment to better my physical health again. I’m not just talking a crash diet to help my appearance. I’m talking, my internal health. I’m sure I’m allergic to certain foods, as my body often shares the distastes via aches and pains. I know I enjoy beer too much, which also dampens my fire some (my God goals- see 2 paragraphs up). I know if I’m eating better and treat my body as a temple (1 Corinthians 6:19) that I’ll be a better version of myself in other areas as well- mentally, spiritually, etc.! think I’m going to make a macro-nutrient commitment for 12 months, starting tomorrow. I’ll allow myself a little wiggle room each week, yet will have a healthy food intake for the majority of each week. Let’s just say I need to get back to the 80/20 rule! I also want to feel better, hence the allergy testing and trying to learn more about what fuel my body craves and operates best with. These are commitments I’m making for this year, period!

CLARITY – I’m going to continue seeking clarity in all areas of life. I’ve modified some major areas of life over the past 100+ days since My Surrender Project started, and I want to continue making healthy changes. I’ve made modifications to my role at work, steering toward the parts I enjoy most- areas that allow me to be authentically me and embrace my strengths. I want to spend more time being joyful, like others I know (see blog post 95% Joy). I will be happy over the next 12 months as long as I continue to find AUTHENTIC JOY! I want to heal and learn from any hurts I haven’t already. I want to live a life full of forgiveness and gratitude. I want to live a life with no regrets. I want to live His designed life for me!

These are the things I want for the next 12 months. This is where my reflecting on turning 36 took me. As EC says in his song A Man Who Was Gonna Die Young- “This morning I turned 36, you just remember half of it, you wonder how you outlived Hank and Jesus!” I’m grateful for my past, my present and my future. I’m grateful for learning and surrendering. I’m grateful for Grace, thank you Jesus!

Much love from Nashville!

For more pics and to fully experience the journey follow @surrender_project on Instagram!

Leave a comment